The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
ULM logo
    University of Louisiana at Monroe
   
 
  Nov 21, 2017
 
 
    
2013-2014 Undergraduate Catalog [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Academic Calendar



ACADEMIC YEAR 2013-2014



Summer Intersession, 2013

May 13 Mon Classes begin
May 14 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes
May 27 Mon Memorial Day Holiday
May 28 Tue Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued (*subject to change)
May 31 Fri Final Examinations
June 3 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. - Session ends 3:00 p.m.

 


Summer Term, 2013

First Summer Session, 2013

May 31 Fri Residence halls open for students - 1st session
June 3 Mon Classes begin - 1st session
June 4 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes - 1st session
June 10-13 Mon-Thu Preliminary examinations for doctoral students
June 13 Thu Final date for removing “I” grades - 1st session
June 19 Wed Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate Advisory Committee - 1st session
June 20 Thu Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate School - 1st session
June 24 Mon Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued (*subject to change)
July 2 Tue Final Examinations - 1st session
July 4 Thu Independence Day Holiday (observed)
July 8 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. - 1st session ends 3:00 p.m.

 

Second Summer Session, 2013

July 5 Fri Residence halls open for students - 2nd session
July 8 Mon Classes begin - 2nd session
July 9 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes - 2nd session
July 15 Mon Final date for making application for comprehensive examination and application for degree for December
July 18 Thu Final date for removing “I” grades - 2nd session
July 22-25 Mon-Thu Comprehensive examinations for graduate students
July 29 Mon Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued (*subject to change)
Aug 6 Tue Final Examinations- 2nd session
Aug 8 Thu Grades due in on-line before 3:00 p.m. - 2nd session ends 3:00 p.m.


 


Fall Semester, 2013

July 15, 2013 - Final date for making application for comprehensive examination and application for degree for DECEMBER 2013 Commencement
Aug 12-16 Mon-Fri Faculty Development Activities
Aug 16 Fri Residence halls open for students
Aug 19 Mon Classes begin for Fall and 1st 8-weeks
Aug 23 Fri Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes
Sept 2 Mon Labor Day Holiday
Sept 13 Fri Final date for removing “I” grades
Sept 13-17 Fri-Tue Mid Term Grading for 1st 8-weeks; Grading ends at 3:00 p.m. - Tuesday
Sept 30  -   Oct 9 Mon-Wed Mid-Term Grading for Fall Full-term classes; Grading ends at 3:00 p.m. - Wednesday
Oct 8 Tue Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate Advisory Committee
Oct 9 Wed Final Day for 1st 8-week classes
Oct 10-11 Thu-Fri Fall Holiday
Oct 14 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. for 1st 8-week courses
Oct 14 Mon Classes begin for 2nd 8-week classes
Oct 14-18 Mon-Fri Preliminary examinations for doctoral students
Oct 24 Thu Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate School
Oct 25 Fri Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University for Fall classes; a “W” grade is issued (*subject to change)
Oct 28   -  Nov 1 Mon-Fri Comprehensive examinations for graduate students
Nov 8-12 Fri-Tue Mid-Term Grading for 2nd 8-weeks; Grading ends at 3:00 p.m. Tuesday
Nov 14 Thu Final date for making application for comprehensive exams and application for degree for May commencement
Nov 15 Fri Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University for Full or 2nd 8-week session; a “W” grade is issued (*subject to change)
Nov 21-27 Thu-Wed Final examinations for Graduating Students
Nov 27-29 Wed-Fri Thanksgiving Holidays, Classes close at 12:00 Noon on Wednesday
Dec 2 Mon Grades due for graduating students before 3:00 p.m. for Full semester and 2nd 8-weeks
Dec 2-3 Mon-Tue Final examinations for non-graduating students
Dec 4 Wed Student Study Day
Dec 5-6 Thu-Fri Final examinations for non-graduating students
Dec 7 Sat Commencement, 10:00 a.m.
Dec 9 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. for non-graduating students for Full semester and 2nd 8-weeks; Semester ends 3:00 p.m.
Dec 23   -   Jan 5 Mon-Fri University Offices closed (beginning Friday, December 20 at 11:30 a.m. until Monday, January 6 at 7:30 a.m.


 


 

Winter Session, 2013-2014

Dec 9 Mon Classes begin
Dec 10 Tue Final date for adding Winter Session courses for credit or making course changes
Dec 20 Fri Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued. University closes at 11:30 a.m.
Dec 24   -  Jan 1 Tue-Wed Winter Session Break (no classes)
Jan 1 Wed New Year’s Day (observed)
Jan 2 Thu Winter Session classes resume
Jan 3 Fri Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University on-line; a “W” grade is issued.
Jan 10 Fri Final examinations for Winter Session classes
Jan 13 Mon Winter Session grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m.


 


Spring Semester, 2014

Jan 6 Mon University Offices Open
Jan 6-10 Mon-Fri Faculty Development Activities
Jan 10 Fri Residence halls open for students
Jan 13 Mon Classes begin for Spring and 1st 8-week sessions
Jan 13 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. for Winter Session courses
Jan 17 Fri Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes
Jan 20 Mon Martin Luther King Day Holiday
Jan 28 Tue Final date for making application for comprehensive examination and application for degree for August commencement
Feb 7 Fri Final date for removing “I” grades
Feb 10-12 Mon-Wed Mid-term grading for 1st 8-week courses
Feb 12 Wed Mid-term grades for 1st 8-weeks due before 3:00 p.m.
Feb 14 Fri Final date for dropping 1st 8-week courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued
Feb 24   -  Mar 6 Mon-Thu Mid-Term Grading for Full Spring semester
Mar 3-5 Mon-Wed Mardi Gras Holiday
Mar 6 Thu Classes resume, 8:00 a.m.
Mar 6 Thu Mid-Term grades due for Spring courses before 3:00 p.m.
Mar 7 Fri Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate Advisory Committee
Mar 7 Fri Final examinations for 1st 8-week courses
Mar 10 Mon 2nd 8-week session begins
Mar 11 Tue Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. for 1st 8-week courses
Mar 10-14 Mon-Fri Preliminary examinations for doctoral students
Mar 24 Mon Final date for dropping Full semester courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued
Mar 24-28 Mon-Fri Comprehensive examinations for graduate students
Mar 31 Mon Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate School
Apr 7-9 Mon-Wed Mid-Term grading for 2nd 8-week courses
Apr 9 Wed Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. for 2nd 8-week classes
Apr 18-25 Fri-Fri Spring Holiday
Apr 28 Mon Classes resume, 8:00 a.m.
Apr 28   -   May 2 Mon-Fri Final examinations for graduating students
May 5 Mon Grades due for graduating students before 3:00 p.m.
May 5-6 Mon-Tue Final examinations for non-graduating students
May 7 Wed Student Study Day
May 8-9 Thu-Fri Final examinations for non-graduating students
May 10 Sat Commencement, 10:00 a.m.
May 12 Mon Grades due for non-graduating students before 3:00 p.m.; Semester ends at 3:00 p.m.

 



Summer Intersession, 2014

May 12 Mon Summer Intersession Classes begin
May 13 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes
May 23 Fri Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued
May 26 Mon Memorial Day Holiday
May 29 Thu Final Examinations
May 30 Fri Final date for making application for comprehensive examination
June 2 Mon Summer Intersession grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m.


 


 

Summer Term, 2014

 

First Summer Session, 2014

May 30 Fri Residence halls open for students - 1st session
Jun 2 Mon Classes begin - 1st session
Jun 3 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes - 1st session
Jun 11-16 Wed-Mon Preliminary examinations for doctoral students
Jun 17 Tue Final date for removing “I” grades - 1st session
Jun 18 Wed Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate Advisory Committee
Jun 23 Mon Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued
July 1 Tue Final date for filing field study, thesis, or dissertation with Graduate School - 1st session
July 3 Thu Final Examinations for Summer Session I
July 4 Fri Independence Day Holiday (observed)
July 7 Mon Grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m. - 1st session. Session ends 3:00 p.m.

 

Second Summer Session, 2014

July 6 Mon Residence halls open for students - 2nd Summer Session at 1:00 p.m.
July 7 Mon Classes begin - Second Summer Session
July 8 Tue Final date for adding courses for credit or making course changes - 2nd Summer Session
July 14 Mon Final date for making application for comprehensive examination and application for degree for December 2014 commencement
July 21-24 Mon-Thu Comprehensive examinations for graduate students
July 22 Tue Final date for removing “I” grades - 1st Summer Session
July 24 Thu Final date for dropping courses or resigning from the University; a “W” grade is issued
July 31 Thu Final Examinations for Summer Session II
Aug 4 Mon Second Summer Session grades due on-line before 3:00 p.m.; Term ends 3:00 p.m.

 


 

NOTE: The cafeterias, dining halls, and residence halls will be closed during the Labor Day, Thanksgiving, Mardi Gras, Spring, and Fourth of July Holidays, and other periods when classes are not in session.