The page uses Browser Access Keys to help with keyboard navigation. Click to learn moreSkip to Navigation

Different browsers use different keystrokes to activate accesskey shortcuts. Please reference the following list to use access keys on your system.

Alt and the accesskey, for Internet Explorer on Windows
Shift and Alt and the accesskey, for Firefox on Windows
Shift and Esc and the accesskey, for Windows or Mac
Ctrl and the accesskey, for the following browsers on a Mac: Internet Explorer 5.2, Safari 1.2, Firefox, Mozilla, Netscape 6+.

We use the following access keys on our gateway

n Skip to Navigation
k Accesskeys description
h Help
ULM logo
    University of Louisiana at Monroe
   
 
  Dec 13, 2017
 
 
    
2015-2016 ULM Student Policy Manual [ARCHIVED CATALOG]

Zero Tolerance


ZERO TOLERANCE
MEANS
ZERO CHANCES 
 

Impaired driving kills many people in Louisiana each year. Nine percent of the licensed driver population is 15-20 years old and account for 30% of all injury and fatal crashes.
 

It is illegal for anyone under 21 to purchase, possess, or consume alcohol in Louisiana. LA R.S. 14:93.

For persons under 21 years of age, the legal limit of alcohol in the blood is .02 percent (approximately one drink). LA R.S. 14:98.1

First conviction could cost you $4,500 (court costs, fines, lawyer fees, etc).

Alcohol is a contributing factor in about 46% of traffic crashes and in the commission of most crimes, including rape, burglary, and murder.

The amount of alcohol in one beer = one mixed drink = one glass of wine = one wine cooler.

Never get in the car with someone who has been drinking - call home.

La. Highway Safety Commission
225-925-6991
www.lahighwaysafety.org/

 

Your body can process .015 percent of alcohol per hour. If your BAC is .20 at 2:00 a.m., it will be over .10 at 8:00 a.m. and still .05 at noon the following day.

1st conviction could cost you $4,500 (court cost, fines, lawyer fees,etc.)

Refusing to submit to an approved test for intoxication will result in the loss of your driver’s license and evidence of refusal shall be admissible in any criminal action or proceeding while the person was driving under the influence (R.S. 32:666 and 32:667)

1st DWI conviction - Maximum Penalties 

  • criminal record
  • 6 months in jail
  • $1,000 fine plus court costs
  • loss of driver’s license for 90 days

2nd DWI conviction - Maximum Penalties 

  • criminal record
  • 6 months in jail with 48 hours mandatory jail time
  • $1,000 fine plus court costs
  • loss of driver’s license for 1 year (no hardship)

3rd DWI conviction - Maximum Penalties 

  • Felony criminal record
  • 5 years in jail with 6 months mandatory jail time
  • $2,000 fine plus court costs
  • loss of driver’s license for 2 years (no hardship)
  • Auto may be seized and sold

4th DWI conviction - Maximum Penalties 

  • Felony criminal record
  • 30 years mandatory jail time, hard labor
  • $5,000 fine plus court costs
  • loss of driver’s license for 2 years (no hardship)
  • Auto may be seized and sold

La. Highway Safety Commission
225-925-6991 www.dps.state.la.us/TIGER